A Map of the Brain
 

Wednesday, 3. July 2002

Foundation Questions


Ah...looks like I'm nearly the last to respond to this question.  I purposely waited until after the retreat, hoping that there I would receive inspiration and direction that would enable me to focus on some foundation questions.  Mine, unlike the rest of the class, are a little different because my research project is a narrative inquiry, meaning that I'm using a specific set of data (interviews, student work, etc.) and studying that to see what themes emerge or are present.  At any rate, here's my version of foundation questions:

  • What is Kelly's story with regard to the assignment under investigation?
  • What is Alex's story with regard to the assignment under investigation?
  • What is Kristi's story with regard to the assignment under investigation?

As I spoke with the writing mentors at the retreat last week, we decided that I should begin by writing each person's story.  Once all three of the stories are written, I can then begin to tell my story (which flips back to my essential question).  My story will evolve from the stories of these three students.  For the purpose of this summer, and a do-able project, I'm only going to be focusing on Kelly's story.  For her, I'll be trying to understand these things:

  • What is the story of Kelly preparing for the assignment?
  • What is the story of Kelly doing the simulation?
  • What is the story of Kelly analyzing the data?
  • What is the story of Kelly writing the paper?
  • What is the story of Kelly's revision processes?
  • What is the story of Kelly's experience overall?

I'm just overwhelmed by how big this project really is, but I certainly learned a great deal in the process of figuring that out.  For example, I learned how complex the assignment really is and how much more there is to be learned by doing this assignment than I originally thought.  Just knowing those things, I expect, will enable me to be better equipped to assist future students in completing this particular assignment more successfully.


 

 
school items icon

online for 8076 Days
last updated: 1/4/11, 4:56 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... search
... topics
... 
... 
... 
... what I'm reading
... future stories
... Home
... Tags

... antville home
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
recent
recent

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher