A Map of the Brain
 

Friday, 21. June 2002

Essential Question


Time for someone to break the ice here. I've been working like mad this week trying to get some focus. Did some writings earlier in the week (in response to some questions Dolores gave me to answer). From one of those writings I even looped into two other writings, chasing down interesting concepts in different directions. Today, I wrote in response to two other questions and believe I have arrived at my focus. So, my essential question for my research is (drum roll, if you please!):

How do students move from a place of unknowing, confusion, and anxiety to a place of knowing, clarity, and confidence?
As to what I already know (or don't know) about this topic, that's kind of hard to say. Since I'm doing a qualitative study, and perhaps it is a narrative analysis (the stories of three students as they complete this particular assignment), the rule of thumb is that in narrative analysis we don't start with theory, we start with experience. By studying the stories, or the experiences of these 3 students, I can then find out what I know or need to know about the topic.
 

 
school items icon

online for 8076 Days
last updated: 1/4/11, 4:56 PM
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... search
... topics
... 
... 
... 
... what I'm reading
... future stories
... Home
... Tags

... antville home
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
recent
recent

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher